Anthony Joshua’a IBF heavyweight title win with exclusive interview with spectator, Michael McHugh

Anthony Joshua made light work of Charles Martin to claim the IBF world heavyweight title, sending the defending champion to the canvas twice in round two before the referee brought a swift end to the fight.

Many people doubted whether Joshua was ready to take on such responsibilities of a world title fight so early on in his career? I am sure you will agree these thoughts didn’t last for long as he immediately had the world champion on the back foot.

Within less than 60 seconds in to round two – Joshua became heavy weight champion with a yet another knock out! Reaching IBF champion in only 16 fights and 34 rounds will he be able to retain his belt? Or is it now when he starts playing with the “big boys”? (as Fury states).

After the match I managed to catch huge fan and spectator Michael McHugh to share his thoughts on how he think it went, and what he thinks about the latest boxing gossip.

 

Interview questions-

RL: Tell us a little bit about yourself? you went to the o2 arena. Who were you rooting for?  Was it was you expected, how did you think it went?

 

MM: I went to the o2 Arena to enjoy the fight. I wasn’t rooting for anyone in particular but would obviously like to see Anthony Joshua win as he is British. I didn’t know what to expect as its the first time I have ever been to the O2 Arena.

 

RL: What was the atmosphere like?

 

MM: The atmosphere was fantastic, nearly 20,000 people were in a party atmosphere it was amazing. I never expected the way it finished nor the reaction from the crowd when Joshua won. Everyone just loved being there.

 

RL: Is that the first Fight you’ve been too?

Charles Martin seemed quite certain he was going to win

 

MM: No I’ve been to many events since I properly got into boxing around 6 years ago. It’s the 2ndtime I have been to London to watch the boxing and the rest have been in Liverpool. I liked Charles Martins chances of winning as he was a undefeated fighter but was very disappointed in his performance.

 

RL: After the fight Joshua mentions that David Haye and Tyson Fury want to fight him, what do you make of that?

David Haye thinks he could come out on top, he said that he could see Joshua’s shots a mile off

 

MM: I think it’s very good for British boxing and the heavyweight division in general. It makes for a very entertaining few fights between them. I don’t think David Haye stands a chance if I am honest, he has been out of action for about 2 years before his last fight and to come in and fight a fighter like Joshua he wouldn’t have a chance. I think the Tyson Fury fight could be one that will make big money for a promoter and will have huge interest from all boxing fans. In boxing there is characters needed and that is what Tyson Fury brings. It should be a very entertaining fight.

 

RL: Do you think now Joshua is a heavy weight champ he will be able to maintain his belt?

 

MM: I think he will do for his next couple of fights but may come unstuck against someone like Tyson Fury or American Deontay Wilder. He has yet to be properly tested yet by any of his opponents and they could be a problem for him.

 

RL: Would you say Joshua was your favourite fighter?

 

MM: No I don’t have a favourite fighter. I always like to see the British boxers do well but I don’t have a favourite. I have an attachment to Liverpool boxers as I have not missed an event in Liverpool in the past 3 years.

 

RL: Whys that?

 

MM: Boxing is different to many other sports. You can follow a fighter but many fans don’t seem to have a favourite boxer. Most of the time all the British boxers have the backing of the British public when fighting abroad. Other than that some boxing fans just like to enjoy a good fight.

 

RL: Who do you think would win out of Joshua vs Fury?

 

MM: I could not predict that fight! If the fight was to happen in the next 6 months I would predict that fury would win but if it was in 18 months to 2 years I think Joshua would have a better chance.

 

RL: Klichco vs Tyson fury re-match July 9th who will you be rooting for then?

 

 

MM: I will be rooting for Fury. I like seeing the British fighters being successful and also its a new generation. Klitscho dominated the heavyweight division for 10 years and now it will be good to see someone different win it.

Leave a comment